Chinese eBay shaving brushes

I ordered one last night after reading your blog.

I have never tried badger before (never really felt the need). However my trusty Men-U pure bristle has died the death of a thousand hairs, after developing a crack in the collar and shedding like nobody's business. At the price including postage it's comparable with the Men-U, so I thought 'why not'?

I am using a Body Shop synthetic as a stop gap.

Doesn't help for the group purchase I'm afraid, but based on your blog the other day I put in an order on eBay for one of the silvertips with a rosewood handle ;)

OnionNon said:
Doesn't help for the group purchase I'm afraid, but based on your blog the other day I put in an order on eBay for one of the silvertips with a rosewood handle ;)

You'll have to let us know what it's like once it's arrived.

I've had a similar chinese brush from the bay (handle is black) for a while and its not bad, obviously not as good as a premium brush , but very satisfactory for the price.

You get what you pay for even directly from China, so make purchase decisions that are based on recommendations from established and experienced brush users.

No offence Bruce but you really know fa about brushes.

Bruceonshaving said:
All the fancy brands you see come from these workshops and you are paying a lot more for the brand than you are for the brush. I believe that buying at the factory gate cuts out all the middle men and all the bloated profits they are making.

Of course the other thing that's being sacrificed is quality control - why would I gamble on a brush with "legendary" (in the sense of it not existing) quality control... I could easily have to buy 4 or 5 of them before getting one that's fit for purpose. I know that if I buy a modest Omega/Vulfix/etc that it will be exactly as described, I know from past experience that I cannot reliably say the same for Wun Hair Lo brushes unless there's a "bloated middleman" doing the QC.