Problems Shaving

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and only stumbled across this forum when I was looking at reviews on my new shaving cream. What a great community this seems to be and I'm hoping people can shed some light.

I'm male, 23 years old and used to shave every day. For the past 3 or 4 years I have been getting terrible shaving rash. Sometimes it is just red, other times they turn into pustules. I've been to the doctors a number of times and I've never been prescribed anything and they've always put it down to stress, or a blunt blade etc.

I'm currently using the new Gillette 5 blade... and have always used nivea and gillette sensitive skin shaving foam/gel.

I've recently treated myself to the Body shop Maca Root Shave Cream and bought myself a little brush to apply it with. I've never used a brush before and for the first time in years I have been able to shave two days in a row without it hurting or being painfully sore. Usually, the day after shaving when my hair starts to come back through my neck is red and sore, that is why I can't shave. But despite haing a small rash, I was able to shave with comfort and ease.

Now, I've used moisturiser tonight (which I don't usually do because it hurts and inflames my skin) but today it has been quite soothing, but has aggravated my skin a little bit.

So, that is an introduction to myself and my hassles with shaving.

Does anyone have other recommendations for aftershave care or their thoughts on Maca Root Shave Cream?

Many thanks, and I look forward to seeing/speaking to you around the forums :)

Amnesia

Greetings,

You have a fine start with BS Maca root cream its great. You may find that the 5 blade razor is part of the problem too, 5 blades kind of means 5 times as much skin scraped off your face along with the stubble. Most of us here use either an old fashioned double edge safety razor have a look at the stickies for info on the best stuff to start with.

Amnesia180 said: