Newbie requires some straight talking...

Specifically about getting a first razor. I had a shave with the passaround box Sanguine shavette yesterday to get a feel for holding scales and it was not as monstrous as I thought. I have got dibs on a straight from an ATG passaround but would like recommendations on a beginner razor or strop. As may make the investment before too long.I have read terrible things on nearly all forums about Chinese Gold Dollars but I see there is an old guy in Cornwall who sells them after carrying out some remedial work on them. However my question is this. Is the steel of sufficiently high quality to be able to be re-honed? This will probably be the case as I am no expert in honing. Many honers websites specifically state that they will not hone these purely because they can't take an edge so could not be justified in taking people's money. Would he re-hone a GD for you?Should I save up and pay £90 for one of his classic Dovos? Are there any other relutable dealers out there and what about a strop? Can they be gained cheaply? Do you use them on their own or does one have to use a compound as well?

I am a happy owner of a shave ready Gold Dollar 208 after paying Billy the old guy in Cornwall 20 pounds and as the work on spine and heel is done to properly set a bevel and finish edge to shave ready state I imagine future honing would not be a problem.

Last edited:
Gold Dollars are Great Shavers..They Hone Up Well & Good Steel..You can Buy One From around 20 Notes at the Door Shave Ready & a Decent Strop for the Same or Less..I Can Only Guess Some Vendors Don't Like Gold Dollars as a Lot of Folks Don't or Just Don't Want to Hone them from the Factory because Some Steel Has to be Removed from them..Not Quite Sure..o_O

Dovos are Lovely Shavers & they Do Need Honed Unless You get it from a Vendor that's Honed it from the Factory which Many Don't..:)

Billy