Let's make a razor!

When I first set up my workshop I always planned on making razors but decided to 'get my eye in' by making a few knives. Several years later and I'm basically a professional knife maker and have never even attempted to make a razor! Time to stop messing about.

This slightly odd looking item is to be my prototype.

12987447004_96d9e04cd6_z.jpg

The rational being that the grinding and heat treating are the big challenges for me here and this design will allow me to practise both without spending time drilling pivot holes, tapering tangs etc only to destroy the thing in the oven.

It will be 22mm wide with the sharp bit measuring 70mm and the overall length being around 150mm. The grind will be something like a half hollow as I only have an eight inch contact wheel and I'll be using carbon steel for ease of heat treating and cost. I do have a rather large piece of RWL34 ready to go but it's expensive stuff so I going to hold onto it for now.

I'll update this thread as I go and hopefully we'll all learn something along the way. Even if it's that I should stick to knives :)

Any/all input is most welcome :)

Hi Mike. I'm going to put my neck on the line here and say that having heard about your knives I'm sure you will make some great razors as well - therefore I want to be first on the list to buy one from you - once you are happy that they a commercial proposition.

Appreciate that this one is a test only - but one little design change will make the overall aesthetics and scale fitting much nicer - add a little bit of curve (whaleback) to the tang so that the pivot hole will sit a little lower - this will enable the scales to show off the spine without too much of a curve.

Rob

Hey Rob, I hope you're a patient man!

This razor won't have scales (Japanese styley) but I take your point. Once I'm happy with the grind and HT I'll play around with a few designs that are a little more conventional.