Ink + Converter

A couple of days ago I got my very first fountain pen - a Lamy Safari. I've been reading about converters and reckon I'll get one from here.

As well as this, I want to try some ink. I'm looking at the J Herbin Empire Green from the same place.

I am just wondering if anyone has used this site, and if it is any good?
Is the J Herbin ink any good?

If I've made some glaring error, then please let me know - I'm completely new to all this.

Thanks.

mulligano said:
A couple of days ago I got my very first fountain pen - a Lamy Safari. I've been reading about converters and reckon I'll get one from here.

As well as this, I want to try some ink. I'm looking at the J Herbin Empire Green from the same place.

I am just wondering if anyone has used this site, and if it is any good?
Is the J Herbin ink any good?

If I've made some glaring error, then please let me know - I'm completely new to all this.

Thanks.

Not familiar with the vendor - Herbin inks are OK but can be a bit lacking in depth of colour - Vert Empire in particular is a bit weak IMO.

[/quote]

Not familiar with the vendor - Herbin inks are OK but can be a bit lacking in depth of colour - Vert Empire in particular is a bit weak IMO.
[/quote]

I agree Vert Empire is rather a weak green, almost greyish (it is however quite a popular colour). I would also recommend Diamine Umber or Delamere. This does all depend on what you are looking for in the colour.

If you are worried about who to purchase from then I would recommend Cultpens. Excellent company to deal with and extremely fast delivery.

Check out bureau direct's discount code on twitter.

One ink brand that I'm really really impressed with is Pelikan's Edelstein range. My 25 feels like it's writing on glass!

Thanks for the recommendations - I suspect this is a rabbit hole I'll regret going down.