I am new to DE Shaving - here's what I just bought!

Hi, Edwin Jagger razors are generally very mild to use. I rarely do more than two passes. It may be tempting to press, or to have to 'feel' something as you shave - i.e. have some kind of feedback when shaving. With my razor, EJ Chatsworth Barley, I don't get a lot of feed back, and the shave is very mild, and I'd rather not have an aggressive razor because I don't want to risk getting a rash or soreness.

I have only been DE shaving for 1 month, and am still experimenting with different blades. It won't be long before my Ingrams shaving cream reaches its Morden stage - the end of the tube, which I've had for nearly 6 weeks (previously used the Azor, and BIC disposables with this cream). Then onto Men U cream. So, take your time, don't try too hard. After all, it's only shaving.

With regards abbreviations, I also have:

XTGL - Across the grain to the left
XTGR - Across the grain to the right.

I even thought of this one for head shavers:

XTB - Across the brain!

Hiya,

Couple of thoughts after reading a good bit of this thread. To the OP, it takes a few weeks before everything starts coming together. Until then it's gonna be trial and error...heavy on the error side. You gotta learn a bunch of stuff all at once, and any screw ups (including the prep) is gonna result in a lousy shave.

The next couple weeks after that is when musle memory kicks in pretty well, and your lather and razor technique will be improving quicker. Eight or ten shaves is not gonna do the trick. Oh yeah, stay with the same razor and blade type during that first few weeks. It'll screw up your reference point if you don't.

Now to the members who have those Muhle/EJ heads and really like em: I can't for the life of me get a decent shave with those things. No, it's not because they're a mild razor (which they are), but more the sad fact that this head just isn't a good fit for me. They're not an aggressive razor, but they shave like one.