Considering Double edge razor - Need advice!

Hi guys.

Joined the forum to ask this question, and apologies if it has been answered before!

I am considering chucking my Gillette fusion razor and taking up traditional shaving. I have never done it before, and am slightly nervous to be honest.

Do you truly get a closer shave this way, and is it reccomended for guys who have sensitive skin, occasionally prone to razor burn?

Also, I am interested if anyone can reccomend me a good brush/razor combo, and also does the choice of actual blades make a difference? Which would be best for a noob like me?

I have been eyeing up the "Scimitar" in the Bluebeard range and also an Edwin Jagger number. They look quite similar though.

Thx for looking, and i would really appreciate some expert advice!

Stu.

You need to give us a budget before anyone can make any brush or razor suggestions.

That said, I would recommend a Gillette Superspeed as a good starting point - talk to Max AKA FrenchBlade on here - he can sort you out with one. I have an Edwin Jagger 87 and that's a nice razor too - and would be another good starter razor.

I loaned a Gillette Superspeed to a workmate who was growing a beard because he found shaving painful. Other than him being a muppet and not tightening the blade in properly (resulting in him slicing a lump out of his cheek) he shaving with the Superspeed a comfortable experience and he is now looking for a razor for himself.

Brushes range in price from a fiver to in excess of £150. For a first brush, you probably wouldn't want to spend huge amounts of money. For a tenner, you can pick up a Vulfix 404 which contains both badger and boar hair. Many say this is a good brush.