Acquisitions?

Never thought I'd spend so much time in the techie section here, but can't contain my excitement, so had to share news of my latest acquisition. Just bought myself an iMac. I've coveted one since 1996 when I first saw one with its distinctive turquoise semi transparent back. I've never used one before, so I'm on a bit of a learning curve at the moment. Can't say I'm finding it as intuitive as the iPhone, but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it. I needed a new computer, and the sight of all those ugly squares on all the PC screens in the shops decided me. God, what an awful interface that is. They obviously thought there is nothing that isn't broke enough to need changing around and messing with.
So at the moment I am fully occupied watching tutorial videos on various aspects of how to use my new lean mean machine. Trying to get to grips with 'Pages', their word processor. Managed to get the new CD/DVD drive to work with it (very bad idea by Apple to remove this). I thought I'd hate the tiny keyboard, but am already used to it after a couple of days and now really like it.
Anyone else bought a new toy lately? :)

Welcome over to the good side! If you bought it from an Apple Store they offer a great service called one to one which is a years training membership.

I love it, Sharon - buying a computer because of the way it looks! I agree with you - they look pretty, but what does it have inside? Don't know and don't care? I love it even more because I could never do what you have done.

Here's hoping it is everything you want it to be! Including looking good! Come to think of it, my PC laptop has a pretty blue back - I got money off because I had told them I wanted black and they couldn't supply one.

soapalchemist said:
Never thought I'd spend so much time in the techie section here, but can't contain my excitement, so had to share news of my latest acquisition. Just bought myself an iMac.