Straight Razor

Ok, I have mastered the art of de shaving and am thinking about trying a straight razor, but this is totally new area for me.
So what would you recommend, vintage, new also what do I need to go with it? I am probably looking at something from Neil, but my budget is limited and I may find it doesn't suit me so I don't want to go too mad money wise.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers, Steve.

Well you have a brush and creams/soaps so all you need is a razor and a strop.

Good luck I'm just starting to learn str8 shaving at the moment and had my 2nd attempt tonight.

I've been on the brink of taking the step towards a straight too, so as much advice as possible appreciated.

Neil does have some great offers on vintage straights and is well respected here - worry is is that it ain't for me and the initial outlay is considerably more than for DE kit.

totalfusion said:
I've been on the brink of taking the step towards a straight too, so as much advice as possible appreciated.

Neil does have some great offers on vintage straights and is well respected here - worry is is that it ain't for me and the initial outlay is considerably more than for DE kit.
This my worry, so it may have to wait but I like the idea of being able to use a straight and if I get the same satisfaction as I do DE shaving then it may be worth the outlay.

You think that's what you're worried about, but wait until you get one of those things in your hand... then you'll know what worry is. They're blumin terrifying.

Having said that, they do make you feel like a real man when you have your first shave with one. And if I was starting out, knowing what I know now, I would definitely approach Neil, either by PM or through his website. He has some reasonable priced razors there, and he's also put a lot of information up on this forum in his 3-part straight razor shaving stickies.