Shoe Polishing assistance required.

Just as I began taking much longer with shaving once I started DE, many years previous I started learning the art of polishing my shoes.

At the moment I have a nice pair of black brogues that I wear for work. Every weekend I polish them up and in recent months I got it down to a good routine. Nice shiny shoes that look better than new every week.

Then today I discovered the satan of all products - DUBBIN! I mentioned my enthusiasm for shoe polishing to my father so he said 'come round and look at my stash'. It was impressive... a box full of all sorts of brushes, many of which his grandfather had used. 'This stuff is great' he said as he passed me a tin of dubbin that looked like it was purchased in the 50's. I applied it to my shoes, let it dry then buffed.

Now I am left with a horrible finish that a turn of the century chimney sweep would probably stick his nose up at. They are dull, soft and have a horrible waxy feel. I tried scrubbing it off and polishing then applying shoe shine but after a minute or so it all seemed to soak in and go dull again.

So my question is does anybody know anything I can use to remove the Dubbin, or at least break it down to the point where I can build up a Polish again? Unfortunately I Googled Dubbin AFTER I'd used it and learnt it is designed for heavy duty military style use to waterproof big boots. My lesson has been learnt.

This is not a joke but you might want to try to burn it out! When I get a new pair of shoes, I put a whole tin of polish on each one and then set them on fire! This softens the leather by allowing the hot wax to sink into the pores. This is a dodge I got from a senior NCO in the Scots Guards when I was learning to be a good matelot. I can let you have full instructions on how to bull a pair of shoes / boots if you;re at all interested but first you have ti try to get the stuff out of the leather, only then you may have a chance. Of course YMMV!

David