Reduced caffeine and caffeine free coffee - help please

I love coffee, and enjoy five or six cups a day. But I want to cut down caffeine intake as following a recent spell of not drinking coffee I found myself sleeping better and one or two other changes for the better that I won't mention here. I still need my cup in hand those five or six times so switching to herbal tea, juice etc is an option I want to avoid.

I make coffee in a french press, and prefer it mild and aromatic. I take my coffee black. My grinder is broke so I am looking for the ground stuff.

So any recommendations for caffeine free or low caffeine coffee that fits these requirements, available in supermarkets and not too expensive?

Thanking you in advance :D

The Cafe Direct stuff is Fairtrade, which personally I think is important and their decaf seems pretty decent to me (but I'm no coffee expert). I blend it 2:1 with the regular stuff (strong/dark if poss) to give a milder caffeine content.

Doubtless the lads on here know more/better than I but that works for me.

My favourite Supermarket coffee is Waitrose Columbian, which is available both "caffed" and decaf.
Why not try Ollie's excellent suggestion - get both and mix your own cocktail, gradually increasing the amount of decaf as you do .
Good luck!

I have a rather draconian view Phil...don't bother.

Like low or 0% alcohol beer and low fat anything it is the devils work, just drink less.

I agree with avoiding fruit & herbal teas although chamomile works if you have been hitting the press a bit too hard.

Enjoy your'e coffee but don't drink any proper stuff past lunch time, that is what works for me.

antdad said:
I have a rather draconian view Phil...don't bother.

Like low or 0% alcohol beer and low fat anything it is the devils work, just drink less.

I agree - but make sure that what you do drink is the best you can lay hands on.... better to have one or two proper cups of your favoured beverage than ten of tasteless micturation.