Razor Progression

Interesting thread. How do you find the Fatboy compares to the Feather Lipsy?

I think my alu tech does such a good all round job for me that I've just bought another - this time an older, unused fat handle which I think I'll prefer.

I was considering going for something different like a One piece TTO but thought I'd stick to what suits me for the time being. Re the Fatboy, is there any point in it (apart from looks) unless you have heavy growth that requires the adjustability?

A little over month in to all of this and I am barely qualified to comment on the relative merits of an adjustable over non-adjustable. All I can say is this:

I love the Feather Portable – it's light (though not 'light' – it's just lighter than to what I have been "used to"), and it kind of makes you focus on letting the blade do all of the work. This is a good thing, I reckon – especially as I'm a noob.

The Fat Boy is heavier (obv), but it's also super-smooth. I love it from a historic, design and shaving perspective – it just works for me, tbh. I have a real "problem" with the hair on my neck, so being able to adjust the blade does seem to help a great deal.

Similarly, I also love the EJ DE89L – it was where I started.

I can get great shaves from all three, but that's a combination of improving technique as much as it is the relative merits of the razors and blades. I'm also finding that lathering is now much easier (I had problems with hard soaps, but I had a "eureka" moment). I guess that I love the fact that each razor feels and delivers something slightly different. I enjoy mixing up the variables so that it never feels the same, something that I think is important.

I am now at the stage where I am beginning to bed down my shave den – I have got a good stash of blades, three razors and a good selection of smellies… As I have said, the weak link at the moment is my brush, so that's the next thing.