Razor Progression

Chaps,

I was wondering what you guys thought about razor progression. Having started with pretty standard kit (EJ 89L) and bought a Feather Portable, where next?

I appreciate that it's all subjective, but I am sure that – as a newbie myself – other chaps new to all of this would appreciate your thoughts on other 'must-have' razors. I know that, after a couple of months, I'm keen to bulk up in the brush and razor department, but the myriad options are beguiling and the more I read, the more confused I get… Vintage, new, fat, slim, adjustable. The last thing that I want to do is "just" buy something, only to find out that it is no better (heaven forbid, WORSE) than what I have. Arguably, it's all part of the journey, so perhaps it's a tad cheeky to ask for thoughts. I just think that it would be useful, is all.

Thanks in advance for your time/thoughts.

Lipsy

It is quite possible that curiosity will lead you to try few more razors. This is how I started and progressed, anyway.

Point is though, that the critical difference can only be made once you get into (or at least try) vintage razors.

From what is available out there now (meaning about contemporary models), you can more or less get what you want.
You want a Merkur HD, for example? A slant, perhaps? A Feather Stainless? Sure, just visit a vendor's website and with one click you've got them in your door in 1-2 days.

With vintage razors it's a bit different. There's this degree of craftsmanship, the slightly different way they shave, the shaver / excellent / mint condition in which you may be able to find them, boxed or unboxed, and so forth. You can therefore have an opinion on all these variables only if you try one such razor - and you actually should, if of course you are really passionate about this hobby. You should, because it will be part of your 'education' on this and because it will give you a real sense of how these 'old' tools actually shave.