noob questions about shaving sticks

D

Deleted member 12673

hello people im a noob when it comes to shaving sticks so i wanted to ask a few questions in regards to shaving sticks,
first of all i didnt realise you had to apply the shaving stick on the region you want to shave then apply a shaving brush with water to create the lather,
when i was shaving in my teens, i would literally just wet the shaving stick and work the lather by rubbing the shaving brush against the stick then apply it on my head to shave, obviously i was getting it all wrong lol :/

first of all why do people use say a shaving stick as oppose to a shaving soap? i mean isnt a soap better?

one of the main reasons i could think of someone wanting to use a stick instead of a soap is due to the cost maybe?
i assume sticks last a lot longer and are cheaper compared to soaps, just to clarify this is me just assuming this, feel free to correct me

anyways which are shaving sticks considered to be the good ones out there?
whats the going rate for say examply a palmolive shaving stick in the uk?
also which supermarkets or health and beauty shops sell them in the uk?

this is just to give me an idea hopefully

thanks saj

By using a shave stick you can see how much soap you are loading.

It's not better or worse than loading from a tub/puck but different.

Good shaving sticks which are easy to get hold include La Toja, Tabac, Speick and Arko.

All these are top quality from my experience.

cool ill check them out, many thanks :)

The few times iv actually used sticks i haven’t really enjoyed them, to much faffing around for me HOWEVER a good few months ago i bought 2 palmolive sticks which i grated down & in to a tub which for me is a far better way to use them
must be more convenient to use now that youve got them in a tub