New face, new razor, new blood

Hi Fellas!

Just wanted to say 'Hi'! I am new to shaving, although 30 and with a decent growth, I have always struggled with spots (especially in the 'goatee' area). However, lately I have been staying out in the sticks where I don't see anyone- so I figured I'd try and overcome this by using an electric razor and free myself from the confines of the beard trimmer.

First day, loved the smoothness. Second day, hello whiteheads. Did some reading and DE razors & soap recommended. Ordered a Edwin Jagger DE89BL from amazon, along with some Crabtree & Evelyn 'Nomad' soap and a Jagger badger brush. Using the Derby blades that came with and feel like I am engraving my face more than shaving it but I'll get there. Starting to understand the grain and work with it. Not sure if these blades are sharp enough for me, but then again it may just be a technique thing... Still getting the spots, but hoping by working with the grain more carefully and not stretching skin will help. Next stop will be some sort of pre-shave balm I guess. Currently using Crabtree & Evelyn 'post-shave relief' (The soap and this cream were gifts from a while back, never used until now!)

Anyhow, I just wanted to introduce myself and give a bit of background- I look forward to talking to you all as the calendar gets thinner :)

Hi Coda

Welcome to TSR

A good wash and rinse followed by your soap lather should really be enough. But like the rest of us, you will enjoy trying a lot of different things once you see the many suggestions and ideas here!

Hello Coda, and welcome to the forum.

There's plenty of advice on offer if you want it; mine is not to worry. Anyone who changes their shaving regimen is likely to have a bit of bother whilst their skin adjusts. Take it easy!

Hi, and welcome to TSR!

The whiteheads also come from time to time for me, typically if I have been a little to aggressive on the face.