DE Razor for Newbie

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here so go easy on me :)

I need some recomendations on a beginners DE Razor, i know this may have been asked a million times before so maybe a point to other discussion had on the site ( i have tried looking)

I have sorted all my other kit (brush, soap, holer etc) so just the razor now

Many thanks in advance

Raz-jnr

Edwin Jagger DE87

Merkur HD

Gillette Superspeed

All good razors to start with.

Welcome, by the way.

raz-jnr said:
I have sorted all my other kit (brush, soap, holer etc) so just the razor now

Hi Raz-jnr! :D Er...so what's a holer?? :?

Joe's right about those razors, though I would add the Edwin Jagger DE89. It seems to me to be the 'Mr Reliable' of the DE world. I think it would be great for someone starting out. I went for the Futur which I feel wasn't a great idea looking back.

raz-jnr said:
Thanks guys,

Its meant to say holder or stand :)

Do you think its better buying from someone off here rather than fleabay

:lol: Thought so, just joshing with you! Personally I would go for a brand new razor to start with. The vintage razors can be great but there is a lot of variability in quality and you need to know the razor you buy is going to be good. If you've never used one before and get a dud then it could put you off for life. There are a few good online retailers that TSR members use regularly. Take a look at our vendors area in the shopping section. Once you have got used to DE shaving with your brand new razor you may wish to go down the vintage route. :D

Your first razor..

I know there might be howls of 'but but..' however id stay away from the Vintage Gillette's till you know what your getting isn't a duffer.

Stick with something solid and dependable you know is going to be spot on from the word go. Then when you have your technique sorted and your feeling adventurous you can start your inevitable collection of vintage razors :)