Tefal Actifry.

Has anyone got one?

Our chip pan needs replacing, and my wife is thinking about the Tefal Actifry. The reviews on Amazon seem very mixed, and as they are not cheap I don't want to get one unless I think it will make decent chips. We are lazy and buy frozen chips, but to me they taste awful if done in the oven, they need to be fried.

Anyone got any evperience of them.

Cheers

I'm of no help really as I have no experience, but only because I read such a lot of reports of them being prone to packing up. It seems the life expectancy is marginally longer than the warranty. However, as with all things, it's the unhappy people who make most noise - perhaps there are many more happy customers.

lloydedwards Wrote: In what way is "actifry" not an oven?
love'n'joy
Lloyd
Lose the beard
That's my thoughts, which is why I'm after opinions of them.

You said you;
"but to me they taste awful if done in the oven, they need to be fried."
So I don't understand why you are asking for an opiniom on an oven,(a small expensive one with an automatic 'chip turner' - you said you're lazy, but how many hours will you have to work to pay for a gadget to open the oven door, turn the chips and close the oven door?)
You said they need to be fried, so I would have thought asking for opinions on Fryers would make more sense.
You've not said what "chip pan" you have, or if you use a thermometer/thermostst etc, and why a straight replacement isn't good enough.. You risk getting several "highly recommended" replies, because some people like the design and only use it four times a year and need it to look nice on the counter top. ...... I know, cos it happened to me (via SWMBO), I'm a former Chef/Lecturer). I loathe gadgets that have most effort and costs in their advertising and marketing.
love'n'joy
Lloyd

Thanks Lloyd, I think you have answered my questions. What we need is either a new deep fat fryer, or me to properly clean the one we have.