Feather AS-D2 has landed

I've had delivery today of the nice new Feather AS-D2 and stand.
[attachment=6923]

As I'm rather new to all this I'll do my best to express my limited experience of this razor.

Straight out of the box you notice the build quality. It's quite simply stunning and the level of detail is amazing.
Weight seem nice, I prefer the heavier razor and the balance feels comfortable.
I seem to be a lover of the heavier weighted razors.

Sadly I was due to appear at my better halfs place but I thought a quick spin would not hurt.
I load an Astra SP blade and used Cella which is quick to lather up.

Now once again I'm no expert so but I proceeded to do 3 quick passes.
The angle is strange as I'm use to my iKon standard head so I was not expecting great results.
Each pass was very quick and I've never had such a smooth shaving action before . No tugging just a smooth glide even down my neck line where I really struggle to shave against the grain.
It does seem mild as after the 3 passes I was still a little rough to the touch. In saying that I rushed the cuts to a point where 3 passes were under 10 mins where I normally spend around 20 to 25 mins.
The good news was I found this razor very safe to the point where I wondered if you could cut yourself. I flow around my face and I know with the iKon I would have been rewarded with a nice nick or two.
To be fair this first shave was just a flash in the pan as I never truly tried it in the time I had.
I've loaded a Feather now for my next shave so I will update the thread once I've tried that and with a shave that I Concentrate on.

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364648570.019582.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364648570.019582.jpg
    124.5 KB · Views: 167