young novice here

Hi Guys,

Im Joe im 20 years old new to traditional wetshaving. iv got a Merkur 42 with 10 tiger blades :)

hope to learn alot from this site looks great btw :D

hope one day to advance to streight razer shaving

cheers guys

Hiya Joe, welcome.

It's not all that common to hear of a man quite so young switching to traditional shaving, what made you abandon the cartridges? Was it cost, or more like the all round manliness? :D

(I say young, but I've never done a survey admittedly, I'm guessing we have most members somewhere in the 30-50 bracket?)

Now then, young 'un, how're you doin'? :lol:

Take no notice Joe, happy to have you aboard. :D I was probably about twenty when I first attempted to shave with a cut throat razor, and knowing what I know now, I should have stuck with it - by now I'd be a guru. Go for it, after all, what's the worst that can happen?

Canuck said:
Hiya Joe, welcome.

It's not all that common to hear of a man quite so young switching to traditional shaving, what made you abandon the cartridges? Was it cost, or more like the all round manliness? :D

(I say young, but I've never done a survey admittedly, I'm guessing we have most members somewhere in the 30-50 bracket?)

The 30-50 bracket might be lower, or get lower in time- might be an assumption of mine but older people generally aren't as frequent users of the Internet. I'm only 18 and a newbie- but changed largely due to blade prices being too expensive- switched down from cartridges and then to disposables before DE, general intrigue attracted me and I feel more manly using a heavier razor. Will build up paraphernalia in time which will look good on my desk

sabaig said:
Canuck said:
Hiya Joe, welcome.