Hello,
I am new to shaving with a straight. I have received my straight razor ( a Peter J. Michaels Merit) and have a kamisori on it's way. Just need a strop now.I wanted to have a cheap strop to start with as I certainly won't know how to use it properly yet. Also because I don't know if shaving with a straight is the solution for me. I have seen the poor mans kit from whippeddog. Does anyone have any experience with it? Or could someone suggest me a cheap strop which could also work? And finally, should I take a hanging strop or something else? Many thanks for your advice!

Hello,
I am new to shaving with a straight. I have received my straight razor ( a Peter J. Michaels Merit) and have a kamisori on it's way. Just need a strop now.I wanted to have a cheap strop to start with as I certainly won't know how to use it properly yet. Also because I don't know if shaving with a straight is the solution for me. I have seen the poor mans kit from whippeddog. Does anyone have any experience with it? Or could someone suggest me a cheap strop which could also work? And finally, should I take a hanging strop or something else? Many thanks for your advice!
Hi Frenky
i'm in a similar position to yourself, but have ordered the poor mans from Whipped Dog. Larry is a gentleman to deal with, I also ordered a razor which was very sharp.
The strop is about 40 mm wide, it comes with some neats foot oil which took an age to get out of the sachet and seems to strop well although as I said I'm only a novice.
I've since made myself a wider strop out of some 3mm thick cowhide.
Gaz

Hi Frenky
i'm in a similar position to yourself, but have ordered the poor mans from Whipped Dog. Larry is a gentleman to deal with, I also ordered a razor which was very sharp.
The strop is about 40 mm wide, it comes with some neats foot oil which took an age to get out of the sachet and seems to strop well although as I said I'm only a novice.