used my new stuff for the first time - wow

hi all,

im a newbie, posted a picture last night of a load of stuff i had bought and used it today for the first time. did have a shave last week with an old brush and a cheap plastic wilkinson sword DE but count this as my first 'proper' de shave.

what can i say - loved it!

preshave routine was, hot shower, proraso sensitive pre shave cream, then face lather with ej pure badger bush and truefitt and hill sample of 1805 shaving cream. then shaved with my ej 89l with and astra blade. felt great - not baby's bum smooth but a good shave for my fisrt attempt. did two passes - with the grain and across.

after shave routine was alum bloc, follwoed by cold water rinse then t&h 1805 aftershave balm - sample again.

had one or two little nick on my neck, nothing major. for my first time with 'proper' kit im very pleased, and actually enjoyed shaving!

Well in.

My first ever DE shave went really well, only problem was that it made me a bit 'ambitious' and I went on to make a bit of a hash with the subsequent shaves. You have got off to a flyer, your prep is spot on, as is your cream, razor and brush. I am certainly no expert, but I think if you keep up that particular routine you won't go far wrong.

Regards

moodymick said:
Practice, practice, practice. Just remember - don't get cocky kid ;) :)

Yups, 101%. Stick with what you have now for a couple of weeks until your technique is solid and your getting consistent shaves - The lure of changing something is oh so high.. (We all know only to well) But stick to your guns.

Then change things slowly. Dont go mad. Keep your variables to a minimum so you can pick up on any changes that might not be right for you.
Give it another month or two after that and then you should be at the point where you can start to really play about.

Great start tho Milkman, feels good doesn't it!

Attero said:
moodymick said: