Trawling the 'bay for an SE

I remain unconvinced that an SE gives a closer shave with less irritation but I'm willing to give it a go (I'm willing to give anything a go at the moment, even the dreaded carts). I've been keeping an eye on the 'bay for a cheap 1912 ever ready or gem, the cheaper the better. As I'm just dabbling, I don't want to spend more than I have to, I'm not after a pristine razor. It seems that SE prices have gone the way of DE prices, up. I can remember how cheap they used to be seven or so years ago when I started all this nonsense.

I put a few on my watch list and noticed a particularly nice one with its box going for £20. It looked in good condition but I'm not a collector and it was more than I wanted to spend. The bidding finally ended with no bids and then I notice that it's re-listed but now it's £69. Now, it could be being sold by a member here and I mean no offence but... well, it's a strange selling strategy in my humble opinion. Good luck to whoever is selling it though.

I have a love hate relationship with the bay, I have bought some great hardware from there and also seen some nice kit to for questionable amounts. My new go-to-place for hardware is Etsy, the price are fair and because its not a bidding site so the price you see is the price you pay + shipping.

Etsy.com GEM Razors -> LINK

Thanks for that link Matt, I'd forgotten all about Etsy. I agree, it's nice to see the price your paying. I've had a few bargains off eBay but they're far outweighed by the times I've paid way over the odds when auction fever has gripped me.

On a side note, I was in Berlin last month. What a lovely city. I did have to walk half an hour to find a shop that sold Speick shaving cream though.

What model was on offer? If it was an Ever Ready Streamline then they do go for that kind of money but the 1912 or Gem razors are usually a lot less. If you are trying one for the first time a 1912 is ideal because they are great shavers and not aggressive.