surely not

i can get away with shaving 2-3 times a week and used to do most of it at the gym after training, even better after being in the steam room

BiC disposable
soap stick of choice
old boar brush

not getting down as much these days, so i'm shaving more at home
which means more DE action

even though i've been wet shaving for years it's only been 2(ish) with a DE
so one thing i have no real experience with or good knowledge is blades

looking through my stash i find that i rated Iridiums & BiC as awful
Derby, Merkur, Laser, Feather, Gillette Platinum and Dorco as average
the only one that stood out for me so far is Bleue Extra
but don't take this as any kind of endorsment
it could be they just didn't match the razor etc etc

my point is :roll:
i could shave with the same BiC disposable from my gym bag for months compared to any DE blade
everything else being equal, passes, lather and such and with even mantic saying these types of razors (disposable) blades are manufactured to a lower spec

how come :?

An hour to an hour and a half sweating it out in the gym, followed by half an hour in the sauna has got to be pre shave prep par excellence. Those whiskers probably fell out at first sight of the razor.

Your blade preference and placement in how you rated them totally highlights how user specific this is, really surprised with the iridium being that low for you. What blades are your current choices?

Not too sure about the whole lower spec with regards to disposable razors. To produce and ship at the lowest possible price yes, to do that with a compromised end product no.

I don't know whether disposables are made to a lower spec or not but I think its clear that you just don't need something as sharp as an Iridium or Feather despite the great prep a sauna can give. No big deal you just don't.

Secondly if your jumping from something that weighs 5g (I'm guessing) to a proper D.E razor it's going to affect your technique with the later.