Plisson synthetic brushes. Great or overpriced?

J23

I’m currently looking to buy a new synthetic brush in the 20-22 range that will replace my old Mühle as a ‘daily driver’.

I’ve always been very happy with the Mühle Quality but I would like to try something else now.

Plisson caught my eye but I have no experience with the brand. Can anyone tell me something about the Plisson quality? Is it good? I’m looking to spend about 90 GBP max. I’m also open for other suggestions. Thanks!

Yeah, they're all I use these days... Been that way for 18+ months now.

The splay and flow through they exhibit is second to none, as close as you'll get to a natural brush while never getting smelly or degrading. I use what Plisson call the White Evo fibre, the older generation Plissoft fibres are also good but very much a step backwards being older tech.

I buy them from Amazon, prices fluctuate over months so worth keeping an eye on them but they never go lower than £55 so if you see one at that price it's time to buy.

Great brushes but the company are arses. I bought the vintage Napoleon style brush from them last year which is a solid lump of pot metal plated in nickel. Anyway, after a couple of weeks use the nickel plating started to flake off so I opened a return via Amazon which they accepted and provided me a return address (had to cover return postage to France myself.) I then proceeded to hear naff all from them, not a peep. Once tracking showed it had been delivered I messaged in English, nothing. Messaged in French, nothing... I contemplated messaging in Klingon but gave up... Had to wait until the claim resolution time allotted by Amazon had run out so Amazon issued me a refund themselves.

Stick to the acrylic handles and you'll be fine.