Now on hard water!

So it's been a mad couple of months and we've moved 300 miles from Cornwall to Northants and the water is hard! So I'm asking for any tips on this? I'm using Harris almond soap and Trumpers Coconut cream at the moment but the truoble is as I've moved over to using a straight [note that it's not every shave, though it should be] I've found it dries so quick.

I live northants way and I use a little more water in my lather and (for me) I always spash more water on my face before putting on the lather with the brush, that way I don't dry out at all.

Just my humble experience but I am new to the DE world.

antdad said:
More of everything. French soaps seem to work well.

That there. Seriously, I struggle with liquid rock in my neck of the woods, so I have to load up my brush and - I am guessing - use more of the wet stuff... (water on hard soaps, etc).

Also big thumbs up in the French soap... Finding that works also.

Am going to have to shave some place other than my house to find out what it's like to shave in a soft water area.

Lipsy

zig zag said:
So it's been a mad couple of months and we've moved 300 miles from Cornwall to Northants and the water is hard! So I'm asking for any tips on this? I'm using Harris almond soap and Trumpers Coconut cream at the moment but the truoble is as I've moved over to using a straight [note that it's not every shave, though it should be] I've found it dries so quick.

It's expensive but you could fit a water softener to the house. Should improve your shaves which is the main thing, but I'm told they even give other benefits. :D

I live in Hartlepool and think we have the hardest water in England.

my first time I ever tried brush and cream it dried to my face.

I then went with EJ cream, as the previous one stung, and found mixing just a little bit more water in helped a lot and I have no problems now.