New To Straight Razors

Hi Guys

as the heading states I am new to straight razors to the extent that i dont even own one yet. I have been thinking whether it is worth the 'hassle' and i am thinking that yes it is.. Anyway, to the point, i haven't got any kit yet and some seem very expensive, okay i know that the razor could potentially last a lifetime with care but i was wondering if there are any reasonably priced starter kits out there that you could reccomend or even individual items. As you can understand i dont want to spend a lot of money for something that i could possibly not end up using. I currently use a gillette fusion ( ssshhh!!), how does the shaved finish compare with a disosable.

Sorry for the vague questions but i dont really know too much about the specifics so am looking for some time served advice.

Cheers

Justin.

The only pieces of kit you will need to get yourself started is a brush, soap, razor and strop. You can either get a vintage or a new razor(stay away from cheap new razors on ebay) also make sure your razor is honed as the factory edge can be quite poor. I would say if you are going the vintage route visit the the strop shop. Ran by neil who is a good guy and member here will help anyway he can. Brush i would personally say a fido or semongue. Soap nearly all good. I would defiently get the brush and soap first as a good lather is really important with a straight. You will also need a ASB and styptic.

Welcome to the forum

Have a look at Neil Miller's shop <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.strop-shop.co.uk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.strop-shop.co.uk/</a><!-- m --> he sells restored razors, strops and all sorts and is a member here. It would be worth PM'ing him about what you are after he's a good chap and gives great advice.