Introduction and what is this?

Hi all,

Firstly let me introduce myself, I'm Liam and I'm just starting out in traditional shaving. Having watched Mark's YouTube videos I was hooked.

I was getting some very serious razor burn on my neck when I usually shaved with the stuff in cans. I could only manage to shave once every other day.

I moved to shaving cream and brush and instantly saw some difference. It was SuperMax menthol and a synthetic brush (these are what's available in Bahrain). I played with it for a while and was really enjoying it. But I was definitely going to try out a DE. I shopped at TraditonalShaving.co.uk and got their cream starter kit with a merkur progress. I also got some soap to go with it.

While I was waiting for delivery I saw a plastic (please don't react yet) DE safety razor which I bought and tried. It was . . . . good to practice with. Definitely not something to continue with in my mind. Also while I was waiting I did (to the annoyance of my understanding wife) get some more creams to try out. One of which is this (http://www.nazih.com/category_4.php?productno=2063). It's made under licence from Canada and I was wondering if anyone else had seen it and if so what's their take on it. I have found it to be pretty nice to use.

On Monday my Merkur arrived and I have been using it over the past couple of days. I must say the first thing I did was to throw away the plastic razor. I'm using a gentle setting and it is smoothest shave I have ever had. I'm still learning new things about my beard that I thought I already knew.

I'm really happy I've made the switch and don't think I'll ever go back.

Welcome to the Forum Liam, you are among good company here, there is a great bunch of people on here, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Soon you will be like the rest of us, loads of different razors, blades, brushes, creams, soaps

Welcome to the club

Steve
(sunburyboy93)