How do you know when you're ready to try a straight?

Hi,

I’ve been shaving with a DE razor since February and enjoy the experience, especially now that I’m getting the hang of face lathering with my soaps. My razor of choice is a Gillette slim but for some inexplicable reason I feel the tug of desire to try a straight. So I hope you won’t mind if I ask a few questions;

Is it too soon to try a straight? Or should I first hone my DE technique to a level of consistency that ensures a superb shave each and every time?

I’m still learning to get the most out of my soaps, should I perfect this essential skill first as I’ve read that a straight is far less forgiving?

In real terms how much longer will it take to shave with a straight compared to a DE? Whilst I enjoy the extra time spent on the art of shaving it seems this appreciation is not shared by others who may want to use the bathroom.

What’s a realistic budget for a sensible razor and strop starter kit; £80, £100, £120?

Can stropping be successfully achieved in secrecy, the acquisition and use of a straight might have to go unnoticed for a while. :oops:

Best regards,

Chris

You should buy an open razor as soon as possible. You are ready to try an open razor when you really want to try an open razor. Same for most stuff.

The first few shaves will likely take a while but after that you can either live with a socially acceptable shave or smooth things out with the de.

If you've got £80-120 email or pm Neil Miller of Strop Shop UK. Or just go to the site and blow your budget. His bargain basement section is also worth checking, vintage strops and other goodies.

If you are asking you are probably not ready.

I do think it would be helpful that you are totally comfortable with all aspects of your current routine before you start. It is going to take time to learn and any undue pressure or doubts are not helpful, that's not to say you shouldn't start looking, reading or picking up a bit of kit here or there.