How do I know if my blade is blunt?

Hi all,

Sorry for the total noob question but how do I know if my blade is blunt?

I used up my last Derby today. It was it's 3rd shave. The fret 2 shaves were perfect however today I've got quite a few nicks/weepers (these are very light, I've just put on a aftershave balm and they have all gone)

Is this blunt? Or have I done something wrong?

Also my last Derby I did 4 shaves on and got some serious irritation on the 4th shave, I presume this was too blunt for me too?

Thanks guys.

If your blade is blunt then it will tend to tug at the hairs rather than cut through them and this can lead to irritiation.

I normally replace a blade after the third shave to avoid this.

However, sometimes I will use the same combination of kit and prep and the shave will come out slightly different. I am not sure why either, is it little differences in technique, the air temperature, humidity, how clean my skin is? I really do not know, but it is frustrating.

Usually you can tell by the feel of the shave itself. You will notice more pulling / tugging, a lack of glide to the blade.
For me i know on the first few strokes if its time to reach for the packet, it just doesn't feel.. right. That might come from 4 years of experience tho.

Most peoples rule of thumb is that with the cost of blades being pretty low and the cost of a bad shave being a days worth of red and sore face - if your concerned, don't battle through. Just change the blade and be done with it.

Don't forget however, irritation can be from any number of factors - insufficient prep , 1 pass to many , wrong blade for you...

For me one of the reasons I didn't rate Derbys was that I found inconsistencies with them. I could get three shaves out of one perhaps & only one poor shave out of another from the same packet. Soon as the razor feels like you're pulling it instead of it gliding through the lather is a fair indicator that you should be thinking of changing it.

JohnnyO. :geek: