Hi!

Hi,

I’m a 53 year old newbie to all this. So far I have bought a bought a Simpson’s Duke 3 best badger brush and some soaps. Started with Proraso green with the pre shave and I received my order of RazoRock Santa Maria del Fiore - Firenze shaving soap and the splash. Used it this morning - superb soap and the splash is lovely also.

Bought the Stirling Gentleman soap and splash also but haven’t tried it yet.

I can see this the start of a sickness and I still haven’t looked into razors/blades!

Warm welcome to TSR.

Rabbit Hole Escape GIF by Apple TV+

Hi

What razors are in your sights....?

Having never used a DE razor, I want something that is safe, easy to use and gives me a nice clean shave. Having been a Gillette fusion man for a number of years, I must admit, I am a little fearful of tearing my face apart.

Any suggestions? I would rather keep it to below £40 at this stage if possible.

Yeah, DE89 is a good shout and usually suggested. Or a Fatip IL Grosso for something different.

You might just need to be careful as you load a blade as sometimes they have have some play so you might need to align it by eye. Nice razors though and great value.

I'll be different and recommend a Baili BD179 which is a mild razor sometimes relabelled and endowed with quite high prices. You can buy it on Aliexpress for under a tenner including tax and shipping or if you don't want to wait a couple of weeks for delivery from China a Baili BD179C silver/chrome is on Amazon UK for £14.99. Incidentally if you buy direct from China it will probably come with blades which are only fit for the bin.

The problem when starting out is it can be expensive particularly if your new Muhle or Jagger proves to be unsuitable and you have to replace it. Usually beginners start with a mild razor and then find a suitable companion blade through sample packs. If that's not shaving properly then we work up the aggressive scale until we find the sweet spot.