Hi from Lanarkshire

Hi all

stumbled onto this forum after watching Mantic59 videos and trying to find out where to get thayers witch hazel. I'm new to DE shaving and found a lot of good info on the forum so thought i'd join.

Just got myself a merkur 34c HD used it with merkur blade with so so results for 5 days (probably poor technique) now have an Astra Superior Platinum in it which seems a bit more forgiving so far.

John

Hi & very welcome Edcaps. I've never had much success with Merkur blades myself, although they have their fans. If you want to try a couple of other blades drop me a PM & I'll post you on a few samples. I'm not that far away from you in sunny Dumbarton (The heart of a region).

JohnnyO. \ :D

Edcaps said:
Hi all

stumbled onto this forum after watching Mantic59 videos and trying to find out where to get thayers witch hazel. I'm new to DE shaving and found a lot of good info on the forum so thought i'd join.

Just got myself a merkur 34c HD used it with merkur blade with so so results for 5 days (probably poor technique) now have an Astra Superior Platinum in it which seems a bit more forgiving so far.

John

Hi there,

I started out using a Merkur blade and my suggestion is to continue with that brand for a few weeks. Make sure not to switch razors either during that time. After a couple of weeks try another blade in that same razor. I'd bet you'll find some difference between the two, and from then on it's a matter of comparisons of previous blades.

During that first two weeks you'll have been refining your DE technique and forming a base for future comparisons. It can take a while to find the right blade, and you need to try em yourself.

Good luck on your slide down the bottomless badger burrow,

Martin

dodgy said:
Edcaps said:
Hi all

John

Hi there,