Helping a new convertee...

Afternoon all,

A friend of mine recently expressed an interest in traditional shaving, and has gone so far as to ask for a cheap brush for Christmas. In the meantime I have provided him with a fat-handled tech, a WS indian blade and a Gillette Silver to try this week. I also set him up with a tube of proraso, thinking it might function suitably without a brush for one or two shaves.

His first report was not favourable... having switched from a multi-blade cartdige to a DE he wholehearted dived into the experience, but came away with numerous nicks, buts and irritation. He's fairly willing to admit that his technique may be flawed, and is therefore happy to give it another go. This is where you all come in! I'm provided numerous bits of advice, and links to mantic's videos, but I don't think he's had the time to digest it all. So what I'm hoping is that you could all help me gather up a few succinct steps and tips for a complete beginner to help him match his enthusiasm with the end result!

I know most of the advice has been said before, but it would be good if I could just point him to this post (and hopefully get him to join the 'community') rather than bombard him with various tips.

Cheers,

Chris

Make sure the beard is thoroughly wet and warm.

Take it slowly.

Apply very little pressure.

Feel the way the beard grows and shave with it.

Basic beginner advice

Hold a hot wet flannel to your face and neck for at least a minute. (Most important)
Whip up as much lather as you can.
Shave with the grain only. Lather up for a 2nd pass maybe across the grain. Don't press down.
Wash face thoroughly with cold water.
Pat dry.

All very sound - I also forgot to add that he's unhappy with the closeness of the initial downward passes. I've stressed patience in getting used to technique before attempting the really close shave!

Here's my newbie pro forma: