Hello - Newbie here!

G

Hello All

I’m a 24 year old looking to ditch the cartridge razors. My main motivation is that I get ingrown hairs which cause nasty bumps/spots – so I am hoping that this will improve the look of my skin. Of course, saving some money along the way may be a bonus.

At first I considered straight razor shaving, but I am put off for a variety of reasons, the main one being that I am concerned that I would not be able to look after the blade well (e.g. stropping and honing). Someone also advised that I should look at DE safety razors first, learn this art, and then move over to straight razors once I have learnt how to shave my face with the DE. I’d be interested to hear what others think about not jumping straight in to straight shaving.

Anyway, apologies for the length of this post – I’ll get on to my main question. What should I start out with? I see that some people have gone for the Starter Kit from Traditional Shaving. I am thinking of going for the ‘Starter Kit – Luxury Cream’ version (link below), but they are out of the Truefitt and hill 1805 – can anyone recommend a different cream that is on the dropdown list? Would this be a good start? Will I need to buy anything else, such as a shaving bowl? Should I opt for a more expensive brush? I don’t mind paying out for a silver tip badger one, but is this wise as I am starting out?

<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.traditionalshaving.co.uk/mall/productpage.cfm/traditionalshaving/_STA-CRE-LUX/268168/Starter-Kit---Luxury-Cream" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.traditionalshaving.co.uk/mal ... xury-Cream</a><!-- m -->

Thanks.

Mark

Hello Mark, welcome aboard :D

It would probably be more sensible to do a bit of DE shaving before trying a straight razor, because a lot of the same things apply. You can get started more cheaply with a safety razor, and the learning curve isn't so steep.