Greetings from a Yank!

Hello all. I found this forum while doing research for DE's as I'm new to it. Actually, haven't even begun :D

What sparked my interest was my grandmother recently gave me my grandfather's shave kit he used over in England and Germany during WW2. It has OPTIMA-GERMANY etched under the head. I didn't want to use it since it was a keepsake, so I started shopping.

I think I'm going with the Merkur 34C after reading some threads over in the DE forum. What has me stumped is all the other stuff: blades, brush, soap, etc. So, any help would be much appreciated.

As far as a brush, from what I've read, the badger hair seems to be the most popular? Also, I've read that there is a trick to getting the later just right, so I'll have to journey over to that part of the forum and read up on that.

Anyhoo, this is great site, look forward to chatting with y'all and thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Elton
Tennessee USA

twodogs257 said:
Hello all. I found this forum while doing research for DE's as I'm new to it. Actually, haven't even begun :D

What sparked my interest was my grandmother recently gave me my grandfather's shave kit he used over in England and Germany during WW2. It has OPTIMA-GERMANY etched under the head. I didn't want to use it since it was a keepsake, so I started shopping.

I think I'm going with the Merkur 34C after reading some threads over in the DE forum. What has me stumped is all the other stuff: blades, brush, soap, etc. So, any help would be much appreciated.

As far as a brush, from what I've read, the badger hair seems to be the most popular? Also, I've read that there is a trick to getting the later just right, so I'll have to journey over to that part of the forum and read up on that.

Anyhoo, this is great site, look forward to chatting with y'all and thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Elton
Tennessee USA

Hello Elton, i have some questions for you...

1) Is your name really Jim ?