Good morning and Hello!!

Hi everyone I'm Adam and I've been browsing through your forums of late to get some tips for beginning the road of wet shaving and now I've finally decided to sign up after my first DE shave.

Not gone to far with regards to tackle as I am only a beginner and so wanted to test the water before I jump in!

I have purchased the cheap, classic Wilkinson sword as I read this was pretty good for noobs and am using the wilkinson sword blades as supplied. Other than that I have a cheap wilkinson sword bristle brush combined with Ingram cream and tabac AS. I have also bought a palmolive stick so that I can rotate lathers - however I've read Im probably going to want more than one? I also have a Boots styptic stick in case of any (inevitable) nicks

The shave went wonderfully today, didn't get it as close as I would have liked, but for a first effort I was very pleased. Had one small nick, but the stick sorted it no probs. By far my favourite investment of the shave was the the Tabac - simply divine! Am thinking of getting some Boots Bay rum and Brut today aswell so that I can rotate fragrances - and they're relatively cheap. In the other hand, by far my worst investment was the brush - took a long time to make a lather and when it did it wasnt't particularly great. Have my eyes on a Vulfix badger already!

So thats about all for my introduction and I'm looking forward to the journey. Just to note, I already have the Vulfix brush, Merkur 34C and old shulton Old spice on my wish list - does anyone suggest any alternatives/additions?

Hi and welcome Adam! You´ll find a lot of good info here, lot´s of knowledgeble guys around. Re the brush, it needs to be broken in before it preforms the best, even tohugh it´s not a very good brush, it´ll get better.

Adam D said:
Hello Adam,

Welcome to the forum!

Hope you enjoy your stay :)

What Vulfix brush are you looking at? The 404? It gets a pretty good rep on here.

Adam