good evening!

Hi all,

this is my first post. I am new to the world of DE. Had my first shaves last weekend with a cheap plastic razor then invested in this little lot:

Photo-shaving.jpg

am going top have my first shave with it all tomorrow cant wait. Have read loads of stuff and seen mantics videos on youtube so am going to prep properly, take my t ime and enjoy it!

Looks good to me.

If you prep well and are used to dragging a blade across your face (even some multi-blade plastic jobbie) then you'll be fine.

Lather building can take some time to get right (and each soap/cream is different) - it can tend to be too wet or too dry. Add water slowly (with the brush) and work it well before deciding if you need more. Remember, you can add more but you can't take it away.

Short strokes, minimal pressure, it'll be good.

And welcome!

destroy my credit card? wont be hard! already like the look of the gillette bostonian!

I did order trufitt and hill cream with my set but they sent taylors instead, contacted them and they are sending out a truefitt for me, and said to keep the taylors as an apology. have also got some truefitt samples so may try one of them tomorrow. Is cream easier to lather than soap for a newbie?

Welcome to TSR! Well you are certainly nicely set up there Milkman. Cream easier than soap...hmmmm...probably. It's certainly quicker and for your first shave I'd go for the TOBS cream. The Bluebeards soap is Mitchels Wool Fat rebranded. This soap gets mixed reactions. Some swear by it and others swear about it (See what I did there?) so it may be worth trying this in a few days once you have stuck with your starting setup and got used to it. Try changing one thing at a time if you can resist the temptation to have a go with all the wondrous items you'll be purchasing over the next few weeks. That way you'll know whether each change is for better or worse.

Hello.