Fountain pen with standard cartridges

Hi,

I'm currently using a Parker Urban Rollerball and quite fancying a fountain pen.

Having looked around on here I've seen that the Lamy Safari and a few other pens are recommended. However I quite like the idea of being able to use standard cartridges so that I can refill easily at work and try a range of the Diamine inks in their standard cartridges.

I understand that the likes of Lamy and Parker won't take the standard cartridge size. What pens would people recommend that do take them?

Thanks

As a teacher, I still hand write a lot (especially when marking). I tend to use a Lamy Safari for marking because I was given a stash of green and red ink cartridges, but my everyday beater is a Kaweco Sport. It's my 'EDC': it's small, the lid screws on so it's secure (a big plus point), and it takes standard cartridges.

By the way, Lamy etc sell 'converters' which you can refill using bottled ink. That might be an alternative way forward?

Thanks, I'll have a look at the Kaweco.

I just thought that the standard cartridges would be easier than a bottle at work and I'd get to try more cartridges easily too.

I'm a big fan of the Faber Castell Loom, it feels much more expensive than it is and is a beautiful writer: http://www.cultpens.com/c/q/brands/faber-castell/faber-castell-design/faber-castell-loom

It has the same excellent nib as the FC Basic, but it's not as back-heavy and is much better balanced. Faber Castell pens are very good indeed and you have the option of standard cartridges or a converter for bottled ink should you want to go that way in future.

Cult Pens are excellent by the way. The Writing Desk is also well worth looking at.

Thanks for that Chris, I'd just been looking at the Basic in carbon fibre as I love the black look. The Loom seems to have the added option over the basic for a converter should I opt for one in the future.