first shave

Hi all, well first shave with my De89 with the derby blades that came with it, going to work a bit stubly today:dodgy:, I washed my face as normal, applied the pre shave, lathered up my Palmolive puck in a small dish.

Face and lather felt nice, I have been using disposable razors for about 33 years and I always manage a close shave using beard buster, I felt I had the razor at the correct angle and could hear cutting, however after four passes it looked and felt that most of my one day growth was still there ?.

I relatherd and this time added the dreaded pressure, this did seem to remove more hair, I gave up at this point as I didn't want to push my luck, no cuts at all but I would appreciate some advice on how to hone this to give me the same close cut as my 50p disposable razor.:icon_sad:

Cheers

It's all about practising at this point. Close shaves will come with time. Have you watched the Mantic videos on YouTube?

What I did for the first few weeks was a couple of passes with the DE, then a final pass with my cartridge razor to clean up.

i'd say the blade angle wasn't right, normally after the first pass for me nearly all whiskers are visibly gone. After the second pass and maybe a bit of a touch up, i cant feel they were there.

Hi. With Derby blades I could never manage half a shave. Far too blunt for me. Get yourself some 7 O'Clock Yellows or Feathers and you should see an immediate difference. It does take time to get the technique right, but starting with a sharp blade should give acceptable results even when beginning with DE shaving.Persevere though,it's worth it in the end.