Do I need a Pre Shave treatment.

I'm new to this DE shaving, just waiting for my razor to turn up.

I can Wet Shave with a Gillette Fusion and some dodgy Gillette Gel without any pain or rash so I'm assuming my skin is not exactly sensitive, but I keep seeing Pre Shave Oils and balms, which I've never come across before.

Are they needed, or is it purely down to personal preference.

I intend to use some proper shaving Soap with a proper lather, and I have ordered some After Shave balm as well, along with an Alum block in case of some minor scrapes.

Is there anything else I'm missing.

Oh yes, I have also ordered a selection of blades.

I'm also new, and I learned LOADS from mantic59's YouTube channel. Fortunately I had already been using soap and a brush, so that wasn't new (except for the amount of lather!). I looked at oils etc and was told that olive oil was just as good ... by my local barber!

Having tried several pre shave products and practices I now stick to showering first then before applying lather I just rinse my face again and leave it wet. All other things I tried did not make a significant difference to the effectiveness of my shave.

But if you are tempted, I doubt we will deter you!

I've been DE shaving for two weeks. I sometimes use a couple of drops of pre shave oil before I apply a hot towel to my face, but this is more because I like the menthol scent than anything.

Best advice I can offer is wash your face really well, make sure stubble is as warm and as wet as you can get it. Then REALLY work that lather. I spend more time lathering and working that lather into my stubble than I do actually shaving.

As Mister G said, the Mantic59 vids are a really good point of reference. Id deffo reccomend checking those out.

Good luck buddy, and dont be afraid to ask as many questions as you feel might help you. The guys here are really friendly, and theres no such thing as a stupid question!

Lose the beard said: