Disposable Blades

Hi

I'm just curious, I know a lot of you enjoy the preparation and looking after the blade etc, but would buying disposable blades be a bad choice for someone wanting to give straight shaving a go?

There's a razor on amazon linked Here

As I'm still learning I thought taking a small step and getting the technique right to see if I like it would be a better option than to buy the whole package.

Would this be a wise choice?

or something like This

a Shavette is nothing more than a long blade that you throw away..might as well stick DE razors n blades til you find the right "combo"..razor+smooth blades you find dont give you near any irritation and can last more than 3 shaves or so...
regarding a straight razor..dont skimp on price bud!...there are MANY "fakes" out there try <!-- w --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.straightrazorplace.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">www.straightrazorplace.com</a><!-- w --> There are MANY pro's there and everything is str8 razor related if thats something you want to get into trying...buying a cheap straight razor..anything less than $60USD in my opinion would be less than minimal..keep in mind..a razor+strops( $60USD at least..3 of em..1leather/1 linen/1 more strop for green or colored Diamond paste or Chromium Oxyde Paste for keeping the edge til you need to send your razor out to be re honed or sharpened..also if you want to get into honing/sharpening the razor yourself its on average another $115 USD....it takes on average 1 year to really "train" your hands well//where you can shave in as little time as it takes to use a Mach3 razor for example...PM me if you have any more questions

Good Luck!
Blades

If you have a search through the threads on this board, there are quite a few threads which touch on the disposable bladed Shavettes. The gist, however, is that they are harsh and unforgiving, and offer the worst of both worlds.