Birth Year razor

I am a newbie and haven't even had my first DE shave yet (Feather Portable in the post) but I am liking the idea of acquiring a razor that is the same vintage as my good self i.e. a 1963 model.
A quick shufty on the bay shows this

<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vintage-Gillette-Slim-Adjustable-Safety-Razor-1963_W0QQitemZ120513626727QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item1c0f2c0267" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vintage-Gillette- ... 1c0f2c0267</a><!-- m -->

Which to my eye looks a little rough around the edges (as do I, I must confess) but I don't know if the blemishes will polish out. I also don't have a clue whether this would be a good option or what would be a fair price to pay.

I am in no hurry so will probably bide my time and keep an eye on Ebay to see what comes up.

I can't believe I have yet to have my first DE shave and I am considering buying another razor already!

Any advice or guidance greatly appreciated.

Keith

I like my Slim a lot, possibly even more than the Fatboy, but then again I like all Gillette twist-to-open razors. Assuming that everything works, the only possible pitfall is dodgy blade alignment, which generally means there's a discrepancy between the blade gaps on either side. For a good one, £20 - £25 is a sensible price to reckon on.

It doesn't look bad.
I have a slightly younger J3 1964 "Birth Year razor" which was probably very similar (perhaps a bit more brassing) to the one you're looking at. It shaved very well. I had it replated in nickel by Dave at safetyrazors.co.uk (a member of this and other shave forums) and it now looks and shaves fantastically well. Go for it. Providing it's mechanically sound you'll appreciate it. If you like how it shaves you can always "pimp it" by replating it in nickel (or even gold if you really want to pimp it) ;)