Are a straights that hard to master?

I'm still learning but there has been some good advice given so far. But what has helped me learn was this.

1) going to a good Turkish barber that is shaving people on a daily basis will give you an Idea on the feel (light touch of the blade) and how the skin streching should feel.

2) Take your time to learn this is a life skill so start just doing the cheeks and if you feel good keep going your aim is to have a close, cut free, irritation free shave that will leave your face smooth and healthy looking :hungrig

3) There will be time when you will think how do I get a blade over that bit of my face. play around with hand and blade posistion untill you can get it right. I only shave with one hand and I can do it :cool:

4) The first time you shave with a straight will feel concerned but after a few shaves you'll feel more comfortable.

5) Learning to use a straight takes time. You will become quicker at it as time goes on. The early straight shaves will look scrappy it's normal unless you are a shaving god. So finish up with a DE untill you can get such a good shave it will stay in the den.

6) What about my DE's you'll want to keep them for when you are in a hurry. But as you become more competent with a straight you will become a master with a DE. You will want a more aggressive DE to the point that I could use a merkur Futur for the the first time set on 6 with no cuts or irritation :shock: :shave :D

7) Using and owning a straight is a pleasure. If you get the bug there are lots to choose from out there. And if you like the old school vibe you might want to get a shaving mug and enjoy making a lather from a gently warmed soap.

Have fun now.