Are a straights that hard to master?

I'm tempted to make the move onto straights for my weekend shave, but to be honest the thought scares the crap out of me & my missus!

Being a fairly accident prone guy (who fell off a bike getting on to it and grazed his face two days before his wedding), I'm a little apprehensive.

I've been using DE's for 6 months and think I'm pretty competent. Is the Straight much of a transition?

I've a Turkish barber near where I work, what do you think the chances of them offering lessons?

Or am I simply worrying about nothing . . .

Re: Is a staright that hard to master?

There's only one way to find out but if you are accident prone and the thought of it scares you?

Lessons are a good idea though, go and have a few shaves with the guy and see if he's up for it.

I've found he transition to DE from cartridges reasonably easy however I found the transition to straights a much steeper learning curve, I've been at it for several months (a couple of times a week) and only now am I getting a consistently good shave but still a little way off the BBS which I can quite easily achieve with a DE.

I think my improvement has possibly been a little slower than average and some people seem to take to it very easily, however its quite satisfying mastering all the facets not only shaving but stropping and currently what I'm working on honing!

When you think about how long straight shaving was the norm, it shouldn't be too difficult to master. But it is harder than the way most of us have shaved for years. I've given it my best shot. But I've decided DE shaving is more relaxing for me. So I only very occasionally use my straights. And that doesn't help to improve my technique.