Any Guitar Players?

Play a bit of guitar, but I'm primarily a bass player.

I played in my first band at the tender age of....35, just a local pub covers band, and have played at a few UKMG do's as well. Packed in the covers band after almost 3 years of playing the same set, and got a bit bored.

Still regularly pick up the bass and play along to iTunes.

Ian

I can play all of a guitar. I play it left-handed though.

Also play bass somewhat.

Though to my core I am a drummer.

There's nothing like the buzz of playing live. I was in a pub/covers band for a few years in my late twenties and early thirties, I still miss it. The problem with being a drummer, though, is the inordinate amount of kit you have to carry around compared to everyone else.

Well I'm trying to learn at the moment - aside from yet another acquisition-based hobby, any tips for practice routines etc?

I have a load of tabs and books, but I'm struggling to get into a set 15-20 minute a day practice schedule...

Learn to play songs.
Learn the scales. especially the minor pentatonic, all the positions.
Learn how chords are constructed from the scales.
Don't be afraid to sing , you do get better at it the more you do it.
Most importantly though learn to play songs.

Yeah play songs. You get a sense of achievement. Build those scabs up on your fingertips.

Considered lessons? I never took lessons, but looking back on it part of me wishes I had, so that I'd not picked up bad habits.

Well I started lessons a while back, but due to my lack of practice, they became rather a waste of money! It wasn't the fault of my teacher, as he was very good, simply that I didn't practice in the two weeks between each session - thus meaning we spent 40 mins of every hour going over basics again!

I'll get some scales printed out and have a go at working through them - by far the biggest struggle for me is changing chords.