Alt Innsbruck

On an impulse I ordered a sample pack of Alt Innsbruck Eau de Cologne and pre/after shave emulsion from Connaught shaving. Blinked, and it was there! I should state that I am not very experienced with describing scents, so bear with me :D
The pre-post shave emulsion is more like a lotion than an oil, leaves the skin moistened but not greasy. I couldn't tell whether it has an effect on the actual shave, but it feels superb on the skin after shaving. I shaved with it this morning and can still feel the softness now - there's a definite difference to how the skin normally feels, but it is not at all greasy, just really smooth and clean.
The cologne - which comes in a dinky wee spray bottle- is very nice indeed. I find it has a very natural sort of herb-like smell, slightly medicinal but in the way of a swiss cough sweet (Ricola perhaps?) not like TCP. It has good longevity, I applied it about 0630 today, can still detect it very slightly on the wrists after a mornings graft.

Definitely on the to-buy list. Just not sure whether to go for the cologne or the emulsion. :lol:

Although labelled as an Eau de Cologne, the cologne is actually an aftershave splash. It says to use it like this on the back of the packaging. It works very well for me as an AS. A nice scent with good longevity and a nice menthol chill on the face. If you have enough left in your sample try it as an aftershave. I had a sample last summer and only ever used it as a cologne, it wasn't until I picked up a full bottle a few months back that I found I'd been missing out.

Yellow Jim said: