A two-handed shave?

Steve27752 said:
I have been using a DE for about 15 years now and one day soon I will try a straight razor :roll:
A couple of questions.
Why does he shave his face three times, is that the norm for a straight razor?
Why does he need four razors can you not just sharpen the one?
Multiple passes, I think most people do with DE's too, so same applies to straights.
You don't need more than one (well 2 if you send yours away for honing), but then again you don't need a lot of things :D
(and 4 straights is very modest indeed, some have a few more, and I'm not naming anyone!)

Enjoy! it's a fun game!

Max

Mikael said:
It does take time, not very long though, to learn and shave with both hands. But I think it´s worth it and I think it´s best to do it from the start, before you get used to shave with one hand. In the beginning you actually can get better results with your weak hand, since you´re most likely more unsecure and light handed with that hand :D BUT, like allways, what´s right for one person could be s%¤#t for another. :lol:

I have found that using my weaker (left) hand was easier than I thought, and, to some degree, a bit better than my right hand!!

Ian

Steve27752 said:
Why does he need four razors can you not just sharpen the one?
If you buy into the idea that a razor needs to be rested after shaving (I do), then two's a minimum if you shave every day. The more you have, the less frequently you're forced into a corner where you absolutely have to do some honing. And variety, obviously, is the spice of life.

The guy made this video to celebrate his 30th year of straight shaving. I thing he does like 5 passes( I do 4 and touch up depending on the razor)
His tecnique is awesome, and I have picked up on some of his tips. For me is more comfortable to use both hands. There are no tight and fast rules,just enjoy your trip. His 7 day Grelot set helps to avoid honing too soon the blade. I rotate my razors one per week.