A brush by Neocaligatio

24mm best badger shaving brush with boxwood handle by Chris (neocaligatio)

I have very little experience of quality shaving brushes up till now, in fact I was using a Culmak Spartan exclusively until fairly recently when I moved up to a huge, floppy Omega 49 Pro. To use the currently popular car analogy, the latter is an unwieldy but comfortable Sierra estate; the former a Hillman Imp.

Obviously I was in need of a decent badger powered shaving brush, but what to go for? Prime contender was the Kent BK4, and I'm still confident that Santa will oblige, but then I stumbled through the door to The Shaving Room, saw Chris' brush making thread and decided that was the way to go. After a few good natured PMs we settled on a 24mm best badger knot, and Chris agreed to use a billet of boxwood which I duly sent off. At first I thought I wanted a Chubby type of handle, but the blank wasn't quite big enough, so I wound up leaving the design in Chris' hands: wise choice, and what I should have done in the first place. The result is the brush you see (Chris' photo).