Which Phone for Photography

Back many many years ago before I became a nurse, I wanted to work in TV as a cameraman (THAT came about due to having the most enormous horn for Anneka Rice) and so I studied photography at school, I had an Olympus OM20, a couple of lenses and a flash and thought I was David Bailey dng double exposures and pushing film in the darkroom. That came to an end and the OM was largely used during the holiday and at Christmas and at no other time. Then I bought a 35mm compact with Zoom as it was easier to cart about, but again this was seldom used.

These days I use a Fuji S5500 for when I want a nice decent picture, but most of the time stuff is captured on my camera that came with the phone. Now despite it being a Nokia with supposedly a 12Mb sensor and Car Zeiss optics even in good lighting conditions the Nokia is trounced on by the Fuji, and even my aged 3Mp Sony DSC-P52.
The downside is the Fuji is the size of a small house brick and the Sony takes just 16 pictures before it dies.

This means the Fuji comes out for special occasions only and at all other times the Nokia is used, at a compromise to photo quality.

So, are there any mobile phones out there with a decent camera attachment?

nope... all mobile cameras are disgraceful. End of story.

sorry n'all, but you'd be better spending £60 on a cheap fuji from sainsburys rather than using a mobile. The results will be better.

I agree with Shrink, phones aren't good for pictures full stop. But if you pointed a gun at my head and said it HAD to be a phone then probably the iPhone 4S is the best of a bad bunch, my wife is an amateur photographer and she has the 4S, she says it's not too bad all things considered. She tells me that the Sony Experia X10 is also half decent considering it's a phone. But yes, a £60 camera will always beat a £200+ phone for picture quality.