Which DE for a newbie?

Hi guys

Im a newbie Irishman living in Turkey.

I hope to get some good advice here.

I want to buy a DE, I think

new, vintage, secondhand, doesnt matter, but easy to find blades to suit on Ebay.

Ive very very sensitive skin and experience razor burn/ rash almost everytime using modern razors like Mach 3 etc from the supermarket.

Max budget £30

What models would you recommend bearing in mind the above skin issue, ease of use and that Im new to all of this?

Cheers in advance

paul

If you're not ure whether DE shaving is for you, it might be best to go for something fairly inexpensive. I don't know whether there are any cheap DE razors available in Turkey - certainly in the UK I'd be directing someone in your position towards a Wikinson Sword Classic or Boots' own brand DE, but things will be very different where you are, I imagine.

Otherwise, there are three popular choices for the newbie, all of which are slightly more expensive (though they are under your budget limit) but which have the advantage of being heavy, all-metal designs of good build quality. Two of these (the Muhle R89 and the Edwin Jagger DE89) share a head design which tends towards being a mild shaver - this may well suit you as a newbie with sensitive skin. Alternatively, the Merkur 34c, sometimes called the HD, is a popular choice (it was my first all-metal razor), but tends to be more aggressive. In some ways this aggressiveness is a good thing as it punishes poor technique and will get you used to doing things correctly; the downsde is that it may be off-putting to you initially compared to a milder design. Another option might be a Parker razor - I know little of these except that they are TTO (turn to open) designs that are quite cheap.

Check out our Wiki (http://wiki.theshavingroom.co.uk/wiki/Main_Page and the Youtube videos of Mark Herro (mantic59).