Unemployment beckons...

I finish my job this Thursday and it is going to be the first time that I have been unemployed since I left university in 1994.

I have been in contact with a few recruitment agencies and there would appear to be jobs in my line of work, so hopefully I should not be unemployed for too long.

I did have a quick look at what benefits I will be entitled to, but there would appear to be only the JSA.

So, it looks like I will have to take a trip up to the 'bru (did I spell that correctly? I am sure one of the local Scots will be able to tell me) at some point and sign on on Monday morning.

I too have been out of work now for 3 months. While it was great to have a little rest, I'm itching to get back into work.

I'm a part qualified accountant and normally get around 1-2 interviews a month, it's just waiting for my luck to change before I get offered a job!

I've still not claimed JSA but I think I may have to now as I thought I wouldn't be out of work this long!

Hope something turns up for you mate.

In my day when we attended the "burroo" (weegie for beaurau) it was optional to wear a flat cap & conceal the statutory off white string vest with a loosely tied "gruvatt". (weegie version of a cravat I believe).

With or without the Rab C attire, very best of luck m8.

JohnnyO.

In the England you need to call some central office to make an appointment. They will ask you lots questions and that will be the date your claim starts form. They will send you some forums that need to be filled in before your appointment. It can take a month or more before money does into you bank. So the sooner the better.

GOOD LUCK

You´ve got my sympathise! I´m hanging on a thin thread right now, it´s bad times allover, I guess. I´ll know in time for christmas though :shock: :evil:. Bastards :lol:

Adam are you leaving or is it the end of a contract or something?

I left my old job in September and I was unemployed for 5 weeks and started my new job today.